top of page

Concert Personnel

The Household Troops Band


The Household Troops Band was originally formed in 1887 following an advert in the War Cry newspaper calling for "young, saved and physically fit" brass players to be "prepared to leave home and family for six months active service for God and the Army". 

The bandmaster was Staff-Captain Harry Appleby and following this six month tour, another tour to Canada in October 1888, which saw the Band become the first Salvation Army band to cross the Atlantic.

While they were away, a second group of players was inaugurated and on 14 October 1889, in the country village of Whitchurch, Hampshire, led a march of more than 1,000 Salvationists in a great march for liberty. 

The first Troops Band returned home to Britain in 1891 and later members of both bands amalgamated. In 1893, the band was dissolved to make way for a new band, and it was from the ashes of the Household Troops Band that the International Headquarters Staff Band (now known as the International Staff Band) was formed.

Reformed by Captain John Mott in 1985 (now Major John Mott), the band aim to fullfill the mission and duty of the original Troops Band. Still waring the distinctive white pith helmets, the band still aim to take their mission out on the streets. They will march to afternoon open-air venues and play an outdoor concert to the public before their evening concerts.

A list of current personnel can be found below, but if you wish to read more about the history of the band, you can find that on our website here.


Carl Saunders - Cardiff



Jason Beattie (Soprano) - Norwich
Daniel Robson - Stockton
Ryan Coates - Croydon
Jacob Smith - Dudley
Hannah Robson - Stockton
Harry Browning - Risca 
Martin Bennett - Nottingham
Adam Blyth - Kettering
Ben Evans - Hendon
David Edmonds - Dunstable
Aaron Thomas - Staines



Peter Elliott (Flugel Horn) - Regent Hall 
Neil Blessett - Birmingham 
Tom Nock - Boscombe
Nathan Hunt - Kettering 
Catherine Wallis - Coventry
Peter Noble - Dunstable



Will Neeve - Birmingham 

Keith Loxley - Harpenden


Paul Hooper - Regent Hall
Daniel Thompson - Hendon
Max Garrett - Hendon
Howard Elliott - Bromley
Paul McGregor (Bass) - Paisley



Chris Shanks - Bellshill

Christian Marklew - Consett



Andrew Piper - Leicester South
Paul Drury - Bo'ness
Marcus Barron - Norwich
Adam Whitehead - Hadleigh 
Andrew Miller - Boston
Rob Wallis - Leek 



Cameron Shanks - Bellshill
Michael Young - Clydebank
Daniel Wallis - Leek
Jono Tonks - Liverpool Walton


Executive Officer

Lt Col. David Phillips - Boscombe


Colour Sergeant

Josh Snell - Hadleigh



BONE-AFIDE is an international chamber ensemble made up of some of Europe’s leading young Trombonists. The group strives to showcase the versatility of the Trombone, performing works from all genres and periods with the aim of defying stereotypes surrounding the instrument. 

In 2020, the quartet became joint winners of the International Trombone Association Quartet competition. Later in the same year, they became a recipient of the prestigious Tunnell Trust Award, which will see the group perform a number of concerts throughout Scotland in 2022. After more successful auditions, BONE-AFIDE are thrilled to have won the Royal Philharmonic Society Philip Jones Prize and are Recital Series artists of the Countess of Munster Trust. The group launched their first album, ‘Christmas with Bone-afide’ in November 2021, and have recently released their second album, ‘Folk-bone’, with World of Sound. 

Alongside being chamber musicians, the members are also keen orchestral musicians appearing on the professional circuit, including playing with the London Symphony Orchestra, Berlin Philharmonic, Berlin Staatskapelle, English National Opera, Royal Opera House of Covent Garden, Mahler Chamber Orchestra, Welsh National Opera, Britten Sinfonia, BBC Scottish, Welsh, Symphony and Concert Orchestras, Philharmonia, London Philharmonic Orchestra, Luxembourg Philharmonic, Sinfonica de Galicia - along with chamber ensembles, Septura and London Brass.

The members of BONE-AFIDE are Robert Moseley, Angus Butt, Isobel Daws, and Merin Rhyd. BONE-AFIDE are proudly sponsored by Getzen Instruments and Greg Black Mouthpieces Ltd.

You can visit the groups website here.

bottom of page